– Museum of One Street – is the first private museum in Kiev, whose collection is dedicated to the history of Andriivsky Descent and its inhabitants. The museum items from the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century were used for the exposition. Getting here, plunging into a nostalgic atmosphere, as if traveling on a time machine. Here you can imagine how the boudoir looked like with a full set of ladies’ toiletries, a dining room with a table, interiors of workshops and shops. Retro music is played in the museum, which gives a search to the realities of the past. In addition to objects of urban life, the museum has a lot of rare autographs and books – original manuscripts and photographs of Alexander Vertinsky, Bulgakov’s novel “The Days of the Turbins” (1927) and his “Therapeutic Directory” by Dr. M. Schnierr. There are exhibitions and interesting projects in the museum. Well, a real excitement of the public was caused by an exhibition dedicated to the public houses of the Andriivsky Descent.
– Bulgakov House – is the famous literary and memorial museum of the capital today. The house itself was built in 1888 due to the project of N. Gordenin, a Kiev architect, and the customers were the merchant family of Litoshenko (the mansion was intended for the owner’s wife). One and a half floors of the building were built of stone, the top wooden floor, was bricked, the roof was covered with iron. Within some time, several buildings were added to the main building, the new owner of the estate of four houses became Z.Mirovych, a merchant and a personal honorary citizen of the city. All the buildings were leased, and the apartment on the first floor was the most expensive. In 1906, the tenants of this apartment became the family of Afanasy Bulgakov the Professor of the Kiev Theological Academy, renting an apartment on the first floor. So, from 1906 to 1919 years the world-famous writer Mikhail Bulgakov lived and worked in the Building No. 13 located on the Andriivskyi Descent. The house wasn’t different from neighboring ones for many years. But in 1967 in the popular magazine “New World” of that time was published an essay by Viktor Nekrasov, a Kiev writer of “The House of Turbins”. That’s right, Kievans began to call the Building No. 13 by the name of the fictional Bulgakov literary heroes, the Turbin family. Today it is the only museum in the world where Bulgakov’s relics are collected. The decision to create a literary-memorial museum of Mikhail Bulgakov was made in 1989. Only in 1993, the museum began to be visited. Today it’s not just a building, it’s a Legend-House.
– Kavaleridze Museum – is a museum and a workshop of the sculptor, director, playwright and theatrical figure I. Kavaleridze. It was founded in 1993 and is located on the Andriivsky Descent, 21 – in a building where in 1911 the sculptor worked on the project of the monument to Princess Olha. Among the expositions of the museum you can see the master’s projects, the originals of his easel sculptures, photographs, scripts and video cassettes of I. Kavaleridze (“Koliivshchina”, “Prometheus”, “Natalka Poltavka”), as well as a memorial room with the personal belongings of the sculptor. The main exhibits are miniature models to the monuments of Princess Olha, Hryhorii Skovoroda and Yaroslav the Wise, installed in Kyiv. The museum has an art gallery, where works of contemporary artists of Ukraine are exhibited. Every year there are exhibitions of young artists and creative evenings.
– The National Museum of History of Ukraine – one of the leading museums in Ukraine, founded in 1904. The museum’s funds calculates more than 800 thousand unique monuments of history and culture. Archaeological and numismatic collections are considered particularly valuable. No less interesting are the collections of cold and firearms, ethnography, unique editions of books, glassware and porcelain. Approximately10 thousand exhibits include collections of paintings, graphics and sculptures. Also there is a collection of documents of the XV-XXI centuries, Cossack attributes, universals, deeds, letters of hetmans and Cossack petty officers. The branch of the institution is the Museum of Historical Treasures of Ukraine, where unique collections of precious metals and stones are collected. The museum is a real treasure trove of national historical and cultural relics of the people.
– The Museum of the History of the Tithe Church is a state historical and archaeological museum, founded in 2012 (Volodymyrska Str. 6/1). It studies history and explores the foundations of the Tithe Church, which are an archaeological monument of national and international importance. It was created for the purpose of scientific research, as well as familiarizing visitors with the history and culture of Kyivan Rus. During the tour, excavation materials are used on the territory of the first Christian stone church, erected in 996 by the Grand Prince Volodymyr.